Warm-Up Activities

 Anita Bell, Spring ’87 

You can warm up both the student’s language skills and interest by conversation activities that require the student to express opinions and feelings. Give the student a minute to think of the responses. You also complete the sentences for yourself. This is not an interview, remember, or simply a display of the student’s language — make it a shared experience by reciprocating with your thoughts and feelings. Here are a few ideas to get you going.

1. Ask the student to complete the following sentences:

A good thing that happened to me this week was… A bad thing that happened to me this week was…

2. Have the student tell you ten sentences about her/himself that begin with “I am…” You do it too! Include nouns, verbs, and adjectives.

3. Tell an anecdote about:

A decision you made this week.

Something you did that made someone else happy.

Something you did that made yourself feel good.

4. Complete these sentences to initiate a conversation about choices:

I wish I could… I wish I understood…

I wish I knew… I wish I had…

I wish I worked…

5. Have your student express preferences, and discuss why. You can use a written list or picture cues.

Would you rather live in the city or country? Would you rather have a small or large family?

Would you rather have lots of money or lots of land? What do you like to do on your day off?

Where would you like to go on a trip?

6. You could use pictures to get this idea of similarities and affinities off the ground.

Are you more like the mountains or the sea?

Are you more like a bird or a tiger?

Are you more like a sailboat or a speedboat?

Tacoma Community House Training Project e Fall 1999

Courtesy of Literacy NOW

CWARM-UP ACTIVITIES

Leave a Reply

